Briedis vs Opetaia UK TV, Undercard, Start Time, Main Event Ring Walk

Briedis vs Opetaia UK TV, Undercard, Start Time, Main Event Ring Walk

Boxing News Sport
Spread the love

Briedis vs Opetaia UK TV Confirmed as FITE TV Picks Up Cruiserweight Title Fight

On July 2nd, Latvia’s Mairis Briedis (28-1) defends his IBF World Cruiserweight Title against the undefeated Australian mandatory challenger Jai Opetaia (21-0). The event will be broadcasted live on FITE TV (Excluding Aus, NZ, US, Can) straight from Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre in Broadbeach, Queensland, Australia.

Briedis, considered by many as the #1 fighter in the cruiserweight division, has only lost once in his 12-year extensive career at the hands of P4P king Oleksandr Usyk via a toughly fought majority decision. Briedis outclassed the consensus #2 cruiserweight Yuniel Dorticos in the WBSS final 2020 winning 117-11 on 2 out of the three cards.

Since then, Briedis has been inactive with only one fight against Artur Mann. Briedis vs Opetaia was supposed to take place on April 6 and May 11 but was pushed back both times. Opetaia in his 21-fight career has never fought remotely near the level of Briedis and this marks a huge step-up for the Australian in front of home support. Briedis is a strong favourite going into this but many feel Opetaia has the potential to pull off an upset.

Briedis vs Opetaia UK TV, Start Time, Undercard

The Briedis vs Opetaia broadcast, Live on FITE TV, will begin at 6:30 p.m. AEST / 9:30 a.m. BST / 4:30 a.m. ET with the main event ring walks estimated for two and a hours later at 9 p.m. AEST /  12 p.m. BST / 7 a.m. ET.

Briedis vs Opetaia Undercard

  • Isaac Hardman (12-1) vs Beau Hartas (6-1) – 10 Rounds Middleweight
  • Taylah Robertson (5-1) vs Yoselin Rodriguez (11-1) – 10 Rounds Super Flyweight
  • Faris Chevalier (13-1) vs Conor Wallace (8-1) – WBA Oceania Light Heavyweight Title
  • Joel Camilleri (22-7-1) vs Koen Mazoudier (9-2) – WBA Oceania Super Welter Title
  • David Nyika vs Louis Marsters – 6 Rounds Cruiserweight
  • Dana Coolwell (7-2) vs Lorenz Ladrada (11-2-1) – 8 Rounds Featherweight
  • Austin Aokuso (4-0) vs Laurence Titter (2-0) – 6 Rounds Catchweight
  • Miles Zalweski (10-2) vs Shiva Mishra (8-5) – 4 Rounds Featherweight

The FITE TV Broadcast is expected to feature 3 undercard matchups leading into the main event. The only bout confirmed to appear on the FITE TV undercard is Joe Camilleri vs Koen Mazoudier but it is expected that the other championship fight on the card between Faris Chevalier and Conor Wallace appear on the card as well as Australian middleweight Isaac Hardman.

By Darshan Desai

Also Read: Tommy Fury Denied Entry To The USA Ahead Of The Jake Paul Press Conference