Joyce vs Hammer: Start Times, Running Order, Full Undercard, Ringwalk

Joyce vs Hammer: Start Times, Running Order, Full Undercard, Ringwalk

Boxing News Sport
Spread the love

July 2, OVO Arena, WembleyJoyce vs Hammer. Unbeaten British Heavyweight, Putney’s Joe Joyce (13-0, 12 KOs) returns to action for the first time in almost a year since his sixth-round stoppage victory over French gatekeeper Carlos Takam. Joyce faces Romanian-German Christian Hammer (27-9) over 12 rounds in a defence of his WBC Silver and WBO International Heavyweight Titles.

Joe Joyce is the WBO #1 ranked contender in the heavyweight division and is targeting big fights in preparation for his world title shot. A big fight was meant to happen on September 24 with Joseph Parker but Parker instead chose to sign with BOXXER/Sky Sports. Joyce will now have to look elsewhere for his ‘big fight’ but first must take care of Hammer live on BT Sport.

The Joyce vs Hammer Card begins on BT Sport 1 (UK) and ESPN + (US) at 7pm BST (2pm ET/ 11am PT). Main Event Ringwalks are expected no earlier than 3 hours later at 10 pm BST (5pm ET/ 2pm PT) with an approximation of 10:30 BST.

Joyce vs Hammer – Undercard

In the co-feature, Doncaster’s Jason Cunningham (31-6) takes a big leap in opposition against former IBF Bantamweight Champion, South Africa’s Zolani Tete (29-4). Cunningham revived his career with back-to-back away corner wins against Gamal Yafai and Brad Foster which earnt him the British, Commonwealth and European titles as well as a promotional deal with Frank Warren’s Queensberry Promotions.

Cunningham (IBF #6) now looks toward a world title shot and the next step in that journey is Tete (WBO #6). Tete has completed just one round since losing his title to Casimero almost 3 years ago. He was supposed to return last year but a horrific car crash derailed his return. With the momentum on the rise for Cunningham and Tete very inactive, this could be the perfect time for the man from Doncaster.

10-0 lightweight Mark Chamberlain boxes Marc Vidal (13-2-5) for the IBF European Lightweight title. Young, unbeaten prospects Mickey Burke (6-0), Henry Turner (7-0), and Arnold Obodai (1-0) return to the ring. New Queensberry signing Tommy Fletcher makes his professional debut to complete the Joyce vs Hammer card.

Callum Johnson was also supposed to be on this card but the light heavyweight pulled out of his fight with former world title challenger Igor Mikhalkin on Wednesday night due to an injury. This marks the fourth time Callum Johnson has pulled out of a fight in the last 14 months.

Joyce vs Hammer – Weights, Running Order

4 X 3 Minute Rounds Cruiserweight Contest
Arnold Obodai – To Weigh In Tomorrow

6 X 3 Minute Rounds International Super-lightweight Contest
Henry Turner – 141.10Lbs 
Jakub Laskowski – 142.2lbs

6 X 3 Minute Rounds Welterweight Contest
Mickey Burke Jnr – 154.12 
Serge Ambomo – 152.4 Lbs

4 X 3 Minute Rounds International Light-heavyweight Contest
Tommy Fletcher – 197 Lbs 
Aron Vrnoga – 193 Lbs

The Vacant IBF European Lightweight Championship 10 X 3 Minute Rounds @ 135 Lbs
Mark Chamberlain – 134.11 Lbs  
Marc Vidal – 134.5 Lbs

The Commonwealth, IBF And Vacant WBO International super-bantamweight Championship
12 X 3 Minute Rounds @ 122 Lbs
Jason Cunningham – 121.2 Lbs 
Zolani Tete -121.11lbs

The WBO International And WBC Silver Heavyweight Championship
12 X 3 Minute Rounds
Joe Joyce – 265.9lbs 
Christian Hammer – 263 Lbs

By Darshan Desai

Also Read: SOURCES: Saudi Arabian Investors Make Another Boxing Venture Funding British Promoter

What Time Is The Joe Joyce Fight Tonight?

Joyce vs Hammer Main Event Ringwalks are expected at 10:30pm BST

What Channel Is The Joe Joyce Fight On?

BT Sport 1 From 7pm

When Does Joe Joyce Fight Agin?

July 2 at the OVO Arena, Wembley Live on BT Sport

1 thought on “Joyce vs Hammer: Start Times, Running Order, Full Undercard, Ringwalk

Comments are closed.