nina hughes decision

Nina Hughes Decision – Bizarre Turn of Events Following Cherneka Johnson Loss

In a strange turn of events, Nina Hughes has taken to Twitter to highlight an update following her controversial loss to Cherneka ‘Sugar Neekz’ Johnson on the Lomachenko v Kambosos undercard.

Nina Hughes Decision - Bizarre Turn of Events Following Cherneka Johnson Loss

In their fight the bout ended initially in a Nina Hughes decision win, though due to a commentator mix-up, victory for Hughes was short-lived, and the scorecards were read out once again, this time in favour of Australian fighter, Cherneka Johnson. The incident left a bitter taste in the mouths of fans and Hughes’ team alike, not least because the fight was for the WBA World Bantamweight title.

41-year-old Hughes slammed the decision, calling it a ‘joke’.

The loss marked the first on the record of the Essex boxer, whose record now stands at 6-1, following the 94-96, 92-98 and 95-95 scorecards in Johnson’s favour.

Going into the fight, Hughes was coming off a shutout win against 6-0 Katie Healy, dropping just one round on one of the judges scorecards. ‘Sugar Neekz’ however, was coming off a unanimous decision loss to Ellie Scotney, losing her IBF Super Bantam World title.

Unfortunately, the mistake in announcing the correct winner has affected more than just the fighters, with announcer Dan Hennessy retiring from the sport as a result of worldwide backlash.

Nina Hughes Decision - Bizarre Turn of Events Following Cherneka Johnson Loss

Nina Hughes Decision Update

It seems that what started as a strange situation has only gotten stranger, with Hughes tweeting the following today:

The tweet shows the result of an independent scoring of the bout by the WBA, who state that ‘five judges were chosen from different parts of the world’ to ‘re-evaluate the scoring on a round to round basis’.

They conclude that the results of this scoring was that ‘three judges saw Mrs. Hughes win and the other two saw Mrs. Johnson win.’

Despite the fact the WBA has concluded that three out of five judges in retrospect scored the fight for Nina Hughes, Hughes has confirmed that the decision will be not overturned or changed into a No Contest.

Instead, the WBA has made the decision that Nina Hughes will be made mandatory challenger for the winner of Cherneka Johnson’s next bout against Jamie Mitchell, allowing Hughes a chance to regain the WBA Bantamweight title.

Follow NoSmokeBoxing on X.