Conlan vs Marriaga - Start Times, UK TV, Full Undercard, Running Order, And MORE

Conlan vs Marriaga – Start Times, UK TV, Full Undercard, Running Order, And MORE

Boxing News Sport
Spread the love

Conlan vs Marriaga Tops Stacked Northern Ireland Boxing Bill As Part Of Belfast Pride Festival

This Saturday, August 6, World title challenger Michael Conlan (16-1) returns to his home city of Belfast, Northern Ireland to headline a Top Rank/Conlan Boxing card at the 10,000-capacity SSE Arena (Odyssey Arena). The Belfast featherweight contender takes on Colombia’s Miguel Marriaga (30-5) in a solid tune-up fight before targeting a second title shot in the remainder of 2022 or 2023.

Marriaga, to his credit, has only been stopped once in five defeats to former pound-for-pound elite Vasyl Lomachenko. Should Conlan win inside the distance he would be only the second man to do so and that would be an impressive feat with Gonzalez regularly extending top 10 guys such as Joet Gonzalez and Eduardo Ramirez the full duration.

Conlan vs Marriaga UK TV, US TV, Start Times

Conlan vs Marriaga is live on FITE TV in the United Kingdom and Ireland. There are two ways you can watch it through the FITE TV platform, either FITE + which is available for $4.99/month or FITE’s Pay-Per-View Platform where Conlan vs Marriaga is available for £7.99. In the United States, Conlan Marriaga is available exclusively on ESPN +.

The actions begins at 7:00 pm BST (2:00 pm ET/ 11:00 am PT) with the main event expected to take place no earlier than 10:00 pm BST (5:00 pm ET/ 2:00 pm PT).

Conlan vs Marriaga Press Conference Quotes

Michael Conlan

“I want to get back in the world title mix as soon as I possibly can, and I thought Miguel Marriaga would be the perfect kind of guy, perfect statement to make that. Thank you to Miguel for coming. I think he’s a fantastic fighter, a very tough opponent, a very tough pick for a comeback fight.

But in my opinion, the perfect one because I want to show my level. I obviously was 90 seconds away, whatever it was {against Leigh Wood}, but I know how good I can be. I know what I have left to give. I believe for me to get back {to title contention}, I didn’t need anybody easy. I wanted someone hard and an opponent who’s going to push me. And I believe Miguel is.”

“If you watch any of his fights, the only person to take him out is Lomachenko, and that was more his corner stopping the fight, not so much himself. I know he’s a tough dude. He will be there for the full 10 rounds. If there’s an opportunity to take him out, I will do that, but I know that he’s a tough guy.

He’s high tempo, fast pace, and he will be there for the full distance punching and trying to take your head off. So, I’ve got to be ready. I’ve got to be prepared. I have many different game plans, which flutter about in my head, and I’ll decide in the ring which one I’ll pick.”

Miguel Marriaga

“Thank you to Belfast and Ireland for giving me the opportunity for this fight. I know it’s going to be a very good fight. Michael Conlan is an excellent boxer. I’ve also come well-prepared to make an excellent fight.”

“Obviously, the idea is to come here and win the fight, which is the most important thing.”

Conlan vs Marriaga Undercard, Running Order

*Fight card/order according to FITE TV and subject to change

  • Paddy Donovan (8-0) vs Tom Hill (10-2) – 8 Rounds Welterweight
  • Kurt Walker (2-0) vs Marcos Gabriel Martinez (18-3) – 6 Rounds Super Featherweight
  • Padraig McCrory (13-0) vs Marco Antonio Periban (26-5-1) – WBC International Silver Super Middleweight Title
  • Kieran Molloy (1-0) vs Evgenii Vazem (9-34) – 6 Rounds Super Welterweight
  • Tyrone McKenna (22-3-1) vs Chris Jenkins (23-5-3) – 10 Rounds Welterweight
  • Michael Conlan (16-1) vs Miguel Marriaga (30-5) – 10 Rounds Featherweight

By Darshan Desai

Also Read; Michael McKinson – The Unassuming Gentleman Primed To Shock The World Against