Estrada vs Cortes

Estrada vs Cortes – Start Times, Running Order, Fight Card, And Ring Walks

Boxing News Sport
Spread the love

Estrada vs Cortes Fight Card, Preview

Juan Francisco Estrada is ‘excited’ to be back in action and ready to put on a show when he defends his WBC Franchise and Ring Magazine World Super-Flyweight titles against Argi Cortes on Saturday, September 3 from Centro de Usos Multiples in Hermosillo, Mexico and broadcast live to all subscribers worldwide on DAZN.
 
Estrada (42-3 28 KOs) makes a welcome return to action almost 18 months after edging out Roman ‘Chocolatito’ Gonzalez in their epic rematch in Dallas in March 2021. ‘El Gallo’ welcomes Cortes to his hometown and the same arena he stopped Dewayne Beamon in August 2019, and the Hermosillo hero will want to put on another show for his fans. Cortes (23-2-2 10 KOs) lands the biggest fight of his career in his 28th pro outing, with the Mexico City man aiming to upset his fellow countryman and become a household name overnight.
 
The Super-Flyweight landscape is as exciting as ever, with Chocolatito holding the WBC Diamond strap, up-and-coming superstar Jesse Rodriguez producing stunning wins over Carlos Cuadras and Srisaket Sor Rungvisai so far this year and a host of talents at 112 and 115lbs itching to test themselves against the best – so 32-year-old Estrada is looking to remind the world that he’s the top dog.
 
There are two more World title bouts on the Estrada vs Cortes bill, starting with the long-awaited rematch between Erika Cruz and Jelena Mrdjenovich for the WBA World Featherweight title. Cruz (14-1 3 KOs) ripped the title from long-time champion Mrdjenovich (41-11-2 19 KOs) in April 2021, with the Mexican ending the five-year rule of the Canadian on the cards after an accidental head clash halted the contest after seven rounds. Cruz successfully defended the belt in Puerto Vallarta in November via a split decision over Melissa Esquivel, while the former champion returns for the first time since the first battle.
 
The vacant IBF World Flyweight title is on the line between unbeaten pair Hector Flores and  Sivenathi Nontshinga. Both men taste their first World title action as Tijuana’s Flores (20-0-4 10 KOs) builds on his victory over Welsh World title challenger Jay Harris in Wales in November, while hard-punching Nontshinga (10-0 9 KOs) fights outside his native South Africa for the first time and comes into the bout on the back of his first points win in his tenth bout having beaten his previous nine foes inside the distance.
 
Also featuring on the Estrada Cortes card is Super-Featherweight dangerman, Eduardo Hernandez, defending his WBC Silver International title against Jorge Mata. Hernandez (32-1 29 KOs) pulled off a stunning victory last time out, blitzing Jorge Castaneda inside a round in Guadalajara in June to land the title he defends against Mata (14-0-2 10 KOs), the unbeaten 21-year-old Tijuana native who fights for his first pro title.

Estrada vs Cortes TV Channel Start Time, Main Event Ring Walks

The Estrada vs Cortes main card action begins at 1:00 am BST (8 pm ET, 5 am PT) live on DAZN in the United Kingdom, the United States and worldwide across more than 200 countries and territories. With three undercard fights, the earliest time for the Main event ring walks is 3:00 am BST (10:00 pm ET, 7:00 pm PT), but it is more likely the main event ring walks take place between 3:30 am and 4 am BST (11:00 pm ET, 8:00 pm PT).

Estrada vs Cortes Running Order

Main Event – Juan Francisco Estrada vs Argi Cortes; WBC Franchise super flyweight title

Chief Support – Erika Cruz vs. Jelena Mrdjenovich; WBA featherweight title

Fight #2 – Hector Flores vs. Sivenathi Nontshinga; IBF Light Flyweight title

Opener – Eduardo Hernandez vs. Jorge Mata – 10 Rounds Super Featherweight

A Matchroom Boxing Press Release was used in this article

By Darshan Desai

Also Read; Julio Cesar Martinez vs Sunny Edwards In Jeopardy For Oct 22