Lucas Ballingall vs Boy Jones Jr Start Times, Fight Card, TV Channel, Main Event Ring Walks

Lucas Ballingall vs Boy Jones Jr Start Times, Running Order, Main Event Ring Walks

Boxing News Sport
Spread the love

Lucas Ballingall vs Boy Jones Jr Tops Domestic Championship Triple From The York Hall On Friday

Portsmouth’s Lucas Ballingall (15-2, 4 KOs), the half-brother of Michael McKinson, takes on Boy Jones Jr (20-4-1, 8 KOs) for the vacant English Super Lightweight championship this Friday, September 30 at the York Hall in London.

Ballingall vs Jones headlines a Lee Eaton (Let’s Go Management) X TM14 promoted card live on the IntuBoxing and talkSPORT YouTube channels. IntuBoxing has agreed on a deal with Eaton and TM14 to broadcast six cards in 2022, this is the second of that contract.

WATCH NOSMOKEBOXING’s INTERVIEW WITH LUCAS BALLINGALL

The Portsmouth man lost most recently to Myron Mills in a razor-tight contest for the English Lightweight title in a ‘Fightzone Car Park’ show. Ballingall put that loss down to no longer being able to make the 135 limit, and says he feels more comfortable at 140 where he will look to make a statement on Friday night and win his first pro title.

There has been criticism for Jones Jr fighting for this belt after coming off a stoppage loss for the Area title at lightweight one year ago and not having a significant win since. Most fans do expect this to be a relatively comfortable night for Ballingall.

Ballingall vs Jones Jr Fight Card

As chief support, Connor Marsden (6-2, 2 KOs) makes the second defence of his Southern Area Lightweight title against Martin McDonagh (10-2, 0 KOs). Marsden’s first defeat came to Daniel Egbunike in 2019 in a competitive 10-round contest. He also fell short to Harlem Eubank when he was KO’d in the final round during the pandemic.

Marsden was meant to be the step-up fight for rising star Adam Azim, however, Azim finished the fight in just 30 seconds in March. Marsden has two good wins over the second half of the main event and Mickey O’Rourke (8-0). McDonagh hasn’t really been successful at title level yet and does go in as an underdog.

McDonagh must take confidence from Azim’s demolition job earlier this year though and believe Marsden is a winnable fight, although his lack of punching power suggests he may have to take a different approach.

WATCH NOSMOKEBOXING’S INTERVIEW WITH WALKER

To complete the title action, Jordan Purkiss (4-0) meets Ryan Walker (12-3) for the Southern Area Bantamweight crown. An early title test for Purkiss against a competent, experienced fighter in Walker has captured the imagination of boxing fans especially since their rivalry continues to build through their ‘gloves are off’ type video on PunchOut Boxing.

Purkiss must be given huge plaudits for taking this risk, one that could boost his career significantly overnight. Walker will have the confidence of mixing it with fighters like Paul Butler and Lee McGregor who are quality operators and believe Purkiss has not proven himself to be anywhere near that calibre and will be shown levels by Walker.

WATCH NOSMOKEBOXING’S INTERVIEW WITH JORDAN PURKISS

Seven prospects including four unbeaten talents take centre stage before the title action. Super Middleweight Joe Giles (3-0), Lightweight Louis Horn (2-0), Welterweight Dean Gardner (1-0) and Super Lightweight Tommy Murphy (1-0) look to extend their perfect records.

Lightweight Bilal Ali (5-1) will attempt to get back to winning ways after an upset loss to journeyman Ed Harrison and over 2 years out of the ring. Super Welterweight Liam Wells (7-2) looks to bounce back before another 50-50 attempt and Welterweight Lenny Fuller (11-1) attempts to build some momentum after two fights in three years.

How To Watch Lucas Ballingall vs Boy Jones Jr + Start Times, Main Event Ring Walks

All the action is available to watch live and free on both the IntuBoxing and talkSPORT YouTube channels with six undercard clashes leading into the championship triple header. The Presentation team will consist of Ali Drew, Andy Clake and Spencer Oliver.

The card begins at 6 pm BST (1 pm ET, 10 am PT) with the first championship fight expected at approximately 9 pm BST (4 pm ET, 1 pm PT). Main Event Ring Walks will be no earlier than 10:30 pm BST (5:30 ET, 2:30 PT).

Lucas Ballingall vs Boy Jones Jr Running Order

Bilal Ali (5-1) vs Reynaldo Cajina (15-68-5)

Liam Wells (7-2) vs Craig Sumner (1-11)

Tommy Murphy (1-0) vs Lee Hallett (1-47-2)

Lenny Fuller (11-1) vs Josue Bendana (10-29-4)

Dean Gardner (1-0) vs Carl Turney (0-33-1)

Joe Giles (3-0) vs Juris Zundovskis (4-2)

Jordan Purkiss (4-0) vs Ryan Walker (12-3) – Southern Area Bantamweight Title

Connor Marsden (6-2) vs Martin McDonagh (10-2) – Southern Area Lightweight Title

Lucas Ballingall (15-2) vs Boy Jones Jr (20-4-1) – English Super Lightweight Title

By Darshan Desai

Also Read; Dillian Whyte To Return on November 26 At The OVO Arena, Wembley