Parker vs Ryder Start Times, Running Order, Fight Card And Main Event Ring Walks

Parker vs Ryder Start Times, Running Order, Fight Card And Main Event Ring Walks

Boxing News Sport
Spread the love

Parker vs Ryder: WBO #1 and #2 Meet In Final Eliminator For Golden Canelo Chance

WORLD NUMBER ONE Zach Parker (22-0, 16 KOs) meets WBO #2 John Ryder (31-5, 17 KOs) in an eagerly anticipated super middleweight clash tomorrow night at London’s O2 Arena live on BT Sport.

Parker Ryder pits #1 vs #2 with the WBO for the interim world title and a mandatory position for boxing’s biggest star, Canelo Alvarez.

With Alvarez likely working with Eddie Hearn’s Matchroom Boxing for his next two fights as he looks to have a warm-up in May before rematching WBA light heavyweight champion Dmitry Bivol, a fight between Canelo and Ryder, who is represented by Hearn/Matchroom, is more likely to materialise should Ryder win.

Felix Cash Mandated To Fight For The European Middleweight Title

The men from Derby and London are also arguably the best two 168-pounders in the country and Hearn/Matchroom have voluntarily worked with rivals Frank Warren’s Queensberry Promotions to make the match – there is nothing not to like about this matchup for fight fans.

Parker almost surprisingly goes in as a strong favourite despite Ryder operating at a much higher level and not only beating the likes of Daniel Jacobs and arguably Callum Smith but having operated at world level at multiple weights across almost a decade.

Parker has yet to step-up from domestic level but many fans see the size of Parker as the key to him winning as well as his underrated body-punching ability. With Ryder being the away fighter and the possibility of Canelo being there for the winner, the consensus is that it will have to be a clean win for Ryder to get the decision.

Eddie Hearn CONFIRMS What’s Next For Jermaine Franklin If He Beats Dillian Whyte

Parker vs Ryder Undercard

Hamzah Sheeraz (16-0, 12 KOs) looks to add the Commonwealth middleweight title to his WBC Silver belt when he takes on English title challenger River Wilson-Bent (13-1-1, 6 KOs). Wilson-Bent went 0-1-1 with Tyler Denny in his last three fights and takes a tough away corner job against rising prospect Sheeraz.

Maidstone’s Dennis McCann (13-0, 7 KOs) fights for his first major domestic title as he meets Glasgow man Joe Ham (17-3, 6 KOs) for the vacant Commonwealth super bantamweight title. McCann at just 21 years of age is considered one of the best prospects in the country, something he proved in his convicnign demolition job of James Beech last time out.

Sam Noakes (9-0, 9 KOs), who is returning from a hand injury, will defend his WBC International lightweight title for a second time against the unbeaten Scot Calvin McCord (11-0, 2 KOs) as he bids to make it a perfect 10, with 10 fights and 10 KOs.

Pierce O’Leary (10-0, 6 KOs) fights for his first professional title when he faces Namibia’s Emmanuel Mungandjela (16-3-1, 7 KOs) for the coveted WBC International super lightweight title.

Unbeaten Cruiserweight Tommy Fletcher (2-0) faces Jiri Krejci (1-2-2) and Sonny Liston Ali looks to go 5-0 against Georgi Velichkov (3-6).

Parker vs Ryder Start Times, TV Channel, Main Event Ring Walks

Zach Parker vs John Ryder will be live on BT Sport 1 in the United Kingdom and ESPN + in the United States.

The main card action begins at 7:00 pm BST (2:00 pm ET, 11:00 am PT). The preliminary action, not streamed live, is scheduled to begin at 6:00 pm BST (1:00 pm ET, 10:00 am PT).

According to BT Sport, Parker Ryder main event ring walks are expected at approximately 10:30 pm BST (5:30 pm ET, 2:30 pm PT)

Parker vs Ryder Running Order, Weights

WBO Interim World Super-Middleweight Championship
12 x 3 Minute Rounds @168lbs
Zach Parker 167.3lbs
John Ryder 167lbs
 
WBC Silver & vacant Commonwealth Middleweight Championships
12 x 3 Minute Rounds @160lbs
Hamzah Sheeraz  159.3lbs
River Wilson-Bent 159.7lbs
 
WBC International Silver & vacant Commonwealth Lightweight Championships
12 x 3 Minute Rounds @135lbs
Sam Noakes 134.6lbs
Calvin McCord 135lbs
 
Vacant Commonwealth Super-Bantamweight Championship
12 x 3 Minute Rounds @122lbs
Dennis McCann 121.4lbs
Joe Ham 121.5lbs.
 
Vacant WBC International Super-Lightweight contest
10 x 3 Minute Rounds @140lbs
Pierce O’Leary 139.5lbs
Emmanuel Mungandjela 139.9lbs
 
4 x 3 Minute Rounds International Cruiserweight contest
Tommy Fletcher 201lbs
Jiri Krejci 197.6lbs
 
6 x 3 Minute Rounds International Super-Lightweight contest
Sonny Liston Ali 145.9lbs
Georgi Velichkov 144lbs

By Darshan Desai

Also Read; Whyte vs Franklin Undercard Breakdown