Davies vs Baluta: Start Times, Fight Card, TV Channel And Main Event Ring Walk Times

Davies vs Baluta: Start Times, Fight Card, TV Channel And Main Event Ring Walk Times

Boxing News Sport
Spread the love

Davies vs Baluta: European Glory Awaits Liam Davies In Hometown Telford Headliner

Telford’s unbeaten British champion Liam Davies (12-0) challenges Spanish-based Romanian Ionut Baluta (15-3) for the vacant European Super Bantamweight (122 lbs) title in Saturday’s main event from the 4,000-capacity Telford International Centre in Shropshire, England live on BT Sport.

Davies signed with Queensberry in 2021 off the back of his English title stoppage win over Sean Cairns on a Matchroom/Sky behind-closed-doors card. Davies managed to get 3 tune-up fights in the second half of 2021, he was supposed to face Andrew Cain twice but injuries scrapped both fights. Davies was also linked with a Dennis McCann fight that did not materialise.

In June, Davies headlined the Telford International Centre and impressively dethroned Salford’s Marc Leach for the British Title in a fight where many backed Leach to win. after winning English and British Titles, Davies now looks to win the European against a top 15 super bantamweight in Baluta.

Baluta who can only be described as ‘upset-minded’ has taken the underdog role time and again and come out victorious the majority of the time. Baluta racked up 3 away corner wins in a row in 2019 and 2020 that included Kyle Williams, David Oliver Joyce and a major shock over former world champion TJ Doheny as a 10-1 underdog.

That streak ended with a majority points defeat to Belfast’s Michael Conlan in 2021 but earlier this year Baluta outpointed former British and Commonwealth champion, Brad Foster at York Hall. An away corner win that was accurately predicted by NoSmokeBoxing.

Until his defeat to Zolani Tete, Jason Cunningham was the European champion and had Baluta as the mandatory challenger.

Baluta is a very tough ask for Liam Davies and should be the favourite going in. Davies will need to show something more than we’ve seen so far to beat Baluta, the winner puts themselves in the mix for a world title shot or a mouth-watering clash with South Africa’s Zolani Tete.

Davies vs Baluta Fight Card

The WBO’s #1 ranked light heavyweight, Anthony Yarde (22-2, 21 KOs) has a tune-up bout against Bulgaria’s Stefani Koykov (14-1, 12 KOs) before his confirmed light heavyweight world title challenge against Canadian-Russian Artur Beterbiev.

Unbeaten super lightweight Eithan James (9-0) was supposed to face Connor Parker (14-1, 1 KO) for the WBO European title, but after a late withdrawal from Parker, James will instead face Sheffield’s Keanen Wainwright (8-1) over 10 rounds.

Jamie Stewart (3-2-2) defends his Midlands Area welterweight title against unbeaten Queensberry prospect Owen Cooper (6-0, 2).

Nottingham light heavyweight Ezra Taylor (3-0, 2), Telford super lightweight Macaulay Owen (3-0, 1), Dublin lightweight Willo Hayden (4-0, 1), Liverpool super bantam Brad Strand (8-0, 3), and York super welter George Davey (5-0-1) also feature on the show.

Davies vs Baluta Start Times, TV Channel, Ring Walks

Davies vs Baluta will be live on BT Sport 1 in the United Kingdom and ESPN + in the United States.

The main card action begins at 7:00 pm BST (2:00 pm ET, 11:00 am PT). The preliminary action, not streamed live, is scheduled to begin at 5:00 pm BST (12:00 pm ET, 9:00 am PT).

According to BT Sport, Davies vs Baluta main event ring walks are expected at approximately 10:30 pm BST (5:30 pm ET, 2:30 pm PT)

Davies vs Baluta Weights, Line Up

WBC International and vacant European Super-Bantamweight Championship 12 x 3 Minute Rounds
Liam Davies 120.7lbs vs Ionut Baluta 121.4lbs

10 x 3 Minute Rounds International Light-Heavyweight Contest
Anthony Yarde 179.2lbs vs Stefani Koykov 176.6lbs

10 x 3 Minute Rounds Super-Lightweight Contest
Eithan James 140lbs vs Keanen Wainwright 134.9lbs

6 x 3 Minute Rounds International Light-Heavyweight Contest
Ezra Taylor vs Mohamed Cherif Benchadi. To weigh-in Tomorrow

6 x 3 Minute Rounds International Lightweight 
Willo Hayden 135.8lbs vs Marian Marius Istrate 133.7lbs

The Midlands Area Welterweight Championship 10 x 3 Minute Rounds
Jamie Stewart 144.5lbs vs Owen Cooper 146.5lbs

6 x 3 Minute Rounds International Super-Bantamweight Contest
Brad Strand 125.1lbs vs Darwin Martinez 128lbs

6 x 3 Minute Rounds Super-Welterweight Contest
George Davey 152.6lbs vs Paul Cummings 153.9lbs

6 x 3 Minute Rounds International Super-lightweight Contest
McCauley Owen 133.3lbs vs Eduardo Valverde 134.2lbs

By Darshan Desai

Also Read; Jessica McCaskill’s Trainer/Manager DISMISSES Fight With Natasha Jonas