Canelo GGG 3

Canelo GGG 3 – Start Times, Running Order, Fight Card, And Ring Walks

Boxing News Sport
Spread the love

Canelo GGG 3: Middleweight Legends Settle Long Time Rivalry In Vegas PPV Headliner

Saul ‘Canelo’ Alvarez and Gennadiy ‘GGG’ Golovkin meet in an epic trilogy clash this Saturday, September 17 at the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada, USA. Canelo GGG 3 will be live on DAZN Pay Per View in the US, Canada, the UK, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand and around the world on DAZN (excluding Mexico, Latin America, and Kazakhstan).

Alvarez dared to be great once again in his last outing but was edged out by WBA World Light-Heavyweight champion Dmitry Bivol. Now the focus switched back to Super-Middleweight where he will defend his undisputed title against the Kazakh king, who campaigns at the weight for the first time in his storied career.

Alvarez and Golovkin have shared 24 thrilling rounds already in this hottest of rivalries and the pair will meet for a third time, five years after their first battle ended in a controversial draw and then the Mexican star edging out Golovkin via majority decision.

Canelo GGG 3 Undercard

Jesse ‘Bam’ Rodriguez (16-0 11 KOs) will defend his WBC World Super-Flyweight title against Israel Gonzalez (28-4-1 11 KOs) as the co-main event on the undercard. Rodriguez has already claimed two victories this year against two members of the four super flyweight kings in Carlos Cuadras and Srisket Sor Rungvisai.

Bam will make his fourth appearance of the year on the Estrada Chocolatitio undercard on Dec 3 on DAZN and look to fight the main event winner but first, he must get past Gonzalez. The Mexican challenges for World honors for the fourth time having previously faced Roman ‘Chocolatito’ Gonzalez, Kal Yafai and Jerwin Ancajas for belts at 115lbs

Austin Williams (11-0 9 KOs) will face Kieron Conway (18-2-1 4 KOs) for the vacant WBA International Middleweight title. Williams has enjoyed two wins this year already including a first-round KO over the undefeated Chordale Booker at a sold-out Madison Square Garden in April.

Conway is coming off a decision win in a 50-50 fight over JJ Metcalf in Liverpool last year and a warm-up last month in Sheffield. Metcalf has since gone on to beat WBA #4 and Spain’s top boxing star in Kerman Lejarraga.

Golovkin’s charge Ali Akhmedov (18-1 14 KOs) meets veteran Gabriel Rosado (26-15-1 15 KOs) for the IBF North American Super-Middleweight title. Akhmedov’s sole career defeat came to former IBO champion Carlos Gongora in Dec 2020. Rosado scored a knockout of the year contender in June of last year against Bektemir Melikuziev but is coming off two defeats since to Jamie Munguia and Shane Mosley Jr.

Preliminary Bouts

Diego Pacheco (15-0 12 KOs) will fight for his first pro title when he meets 2012 Olympian and six-time Puerto Rican National champion Enrique Collazo (16-2-1 11 KOs) for the WBC USNBC Silver Super-Middleweight title. At just 21, Pacheco has already completed his learning phase in the paid ranks and looks to step-up massively in the next 12 months and challenge for a belt held by the winner of the main event.

Marc Castro (7-0, 5 KOs) vs Kevin Montiel Mendoza (6-1-2, 3 KOs)

Aaron Aponte (6-0, 2 KOs) vs Fernando Molina (8-0, 3 KOs)

Anthony Herrera (2-0-1, 2 KOs) vs Delvin McKinley (4-3-1, 4 KOs)

Canelo GGG 3 – Start Times, UK TV, US TV, Main Event Ringwalk Time

The Canelo GGG 3 preliminary action will get underway at 9:45 PM BST (4:45 pm ET, 1:45 pm PT) on the DAZN platform, and the Matchroom/DAZN YouTube channels. (follow me on Twitter for live updates).

The main card begins just over three hours later at 1:00 AM BST on Sunday 18th of September (8:00 pm ET, 5:00 pm PT – Saturday 17 Sep) live on DAZN Pay-Per-View.

Canelo vs GGG 3 main event ring walks are expected to occur at approximately 4:15 am BST (11:15 pm ET, 8:15 PT).

Canelo GGG 3 Running Order, Weights

Before The Bell – 21:45, 16:45, 13:45

Anthony Herrera 114.8 vs Delvin McKinley 116 – 6 Rounds Super Flyweight

Aaron Aponte 139.8 vs Fernando Molina 140 – 8 Rounds Super Lightweight

Marc Castro 134.4 vs Kevin Montiel Mendoza 135.2 – 8 Rounds Lightweight

Diego Pacheco 167 vs Enrique Collazo 167.8 – WBC USNBC Silver Super Middleweight Title

Main Card – 01:00 / 20:00 / 17:00

Austin Williams 160 vs Kieron Conway 159.2 – WBA International Middleweight Title

Ali Akhmedov 167.8 vs Gabriel Rosado 167.6 – IBF North American Super Middleweight Title

Jesse “Bam” Rodriguez 114.8 vs Israel Gonzalez 114.6 – WBC World Super Flyweight Championship

Saul ‘Canelo’ Alvarez 167.4 lbs vs Gennadiy ‘GGG’ Golovkin 167.8 lbs – UNDISPUTED SUPER MIDDLEWEIGHT WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP

Multiple Matchroom Boxing Press Releases Were Used In This Article

By Darshan Desai – Follow For Canelo vs GGG 3 Round By Round Updates

Also Read; Tommy Fury vs Tyron Woodley In Negotiations For Mayweather-Deji Card